#### Where to apply

Apply for your marriage license at the office of

Breein B. Suver, County Clerk, at 1001 East

Grant Street, Watseka, Illinois.



### <u>Important</u>

Persons obtaining a marriage license in Iroquois County MAY NOT use the license in any other county. The license must be obtained at least one day prior to the marriage and is void 60 days after the effective date.

# **Obtaining a Certified Copy**

<u>A copy of your marriage license issued in Iroquois County may be obtained from the County Clerk's Office. Include the maiden name of the bride, the grooms name, the date of the marriage and the fee of \$18.00. Additional copies of the same certificate may be obtained for \$5.00 each. effective 10-1-2019 (Fees subject to change)</u>

#### **IROQUOIS COUNTY, ILLINOIS**



Phone: 815-432-6960 Fax: 815-432-6999 Email: iroquoiscountyclerk@co.iroquois.il.us

#### **IROQUOIS COUNTY, ILLINOIS**

INFORMATION ON OBTAINING YOUR MARRIAGE LICENSE

> Issued by the office of Iroquois County Clerk BREEIN B. SUVER



815-432-6960

## <u>Persons</u> who may not marry

Blood relatives down to and including first cousins MAY NOT marry under the laws of the State of Illinois unless they are both over 50 years of age (by State Legislature SB 896-PA 83-226; HB 395). However, a marriage between first cousins is not prohibited if either party submits a certificate signed by a physician stating that the party is permanently and irreversibly sterile. PA 85-493.

# *Qualifications for res-*

#### <u>State of Illinois</u>

Age requirements: In order to be married in Illinois without parental consent you must be at least 18 years of age. If you are 16 or 17 years of age, <u>BOTH PARENTS</u> must sign a parental consent form in the County Clerk's Office at the time you apply for the license. If it is not possible for your parents to sign in this office, it may be done before the County Clerk in your parent's County of residence. If a parent is deceased, a death certificate or proof of guardianship, or court order waiving consent must be presented.

## $\underline{FEE}$

The fee for a marriage license is \$50.00. (effective 10-1-2019). CASH ONLY ~ NO CHECKS ACCEPTED (effective 8-22-63, by State Legislature HB 1551).

#### <u>Proof of Age</u>

It will be necessary to show proof of age when applying for a marriage license. If you are less than 18 years of age, you must have an unaltered birth certificate. If you are 18 years of age or older, a driver's license is acceptable

## **Qualifications for non-**

## <u>residents</u>

Non-residents CANNOT obtain a marriage license if said marriage would be void in their state

#### <u>Return of the License</u>

The license must be returned to the County Clerk's Office by the officiant of the ceremony within ten days after the date of marriage.

# Marriage by a Judge

If you wish to be married by a Judge, you may make your own arrangements prior to the ceremony by calling 815-432-6965.



#### <u>OFFICE HOURS</u>

Monday through Friday 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM Closed Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays

#### **IROQUOIS COUNTY, ILLINOIS**



Phone: 815-432-6960 Fax: 815-432-6999 Email: iroquoiscountyclerk@co.iroquois.il.us